Cinco momentos that shaped me into the learner {and teacher} I am today

I’m sorry for the horrible Spanglish, but I’ll explain it if you keep reading!

There are certain thing that impact us throughout our lives: a cookie that inspires one to become an amazing baker, an athlete that makes one want to be the next olympic champion, or the couch that begs us to be a couch potato.  My assignment today was to think of 5 key moments that shaped me into the learner I am today.

arrow-686315_640Life’s Arrows:

When I was in high school, there were several things that pointed me towards teaching.    There were several people as well {teachers, coaches, parents, friends} and each of these pushed me to be the best student I could be, knowing that I would be in the teachers’ shoes eventually.  There was a girl on my basketball team that said she thought I would be a great teacher. That moment specifically stands out to me.  Perhaps it’s because that was my junior year and I was actually starting to feel the pressure of deciding what I would do with my life.

reportScholarships:

The thought of going to college and the costs involved is tremendous.  I was blessed enough to earn several scholarships.  These scholarships were for grades and involvement.  Receiving these scholarships spurred me on to study even harder, take better notes, and do even more than I thought I could.  I remained involved in extra curricular activities throughout college, which prepared me to be the coach that I am today.  I’m still able to get my homework done, do my lesson planning and grading, and prepare activities outside of school because I had the experience from before.

spanish-761512_640La classe de espanol:

When I was in high school I could only fit in one year of Spanish class.  I thought it would’t be a problem to take a year in college. Boy, was I wrong! I had a wonderful and sweet professor, but I guess my brain just wasn’t built for learning foreign languages! I literally cried the entire day of my final- before, during, and after. What could this have taught me?  I’m a people pleasing perfectionist.  I always have to be good at things.  In this case I had to work even harder than I have for any other class in my life to get the A.  It wasn’t a strong A that I wanted, but it was an A to keep my 4.0.  I realized that, no, I won’t always be good at things.  But that doesn’t mean that I won’t try.  That class taught me perseverance as well as acceptance.  I will always do my absolute best, but I realize that that might not always turn out the way I want!

application-1915343_640New Job:

I recently received a job that isn’t exactly in my degree focus. Because of that, I’ve had to go back for continuing education!  This has encouraged me to study extra hard on topics that I never thought I would focus on!  Luckily I’m not a Spanish teacher, but it is still a class that I always struggled with in school.  It’s also a class several people hate.  Yep, I’m the high school English teacher!  I am relearning everything I learned in high school, plus SO much more! I’m also trying to find new ways of teaching it that are more fun and interesting.

computer-1295358_640Students’ Struggles:

Now that I’m a teacher, I see students struggle learning new concepts.  I have to look at the concept I’m trying to teach and think of a different way to teach it.  I also have to go back and research things, learning it for myself before I can expect my students to learn it.  It’s funny how life can be full-circle because, as I’ve said, I struggled with English in high school.  I hated it. {A few months back, some of my students asked me what class I hated in high school.  They were amazed when I replied with “English!”  I even had to show them when my Facebook time-hop popped up a memory from my senior year: “i hate senior english…”  (Please notice the horrible grammar as well!)}  Since I struggled with and hated it, I am actually able to understand the students’ problems and their frustrations with the language.  Because of this, I am eager to learn something different to help them learn as well.

 

~All pictures are public domain!~

9 thoughts on “Cinco momentos that shaped me into the learner {and teacher} I am today

  1. How interesting! I will become a middle school English teacher this coming year as well. I have taught music for 16 years and now I’m looking for some change. Maybe we can share some English discoveries. I am completely in agreement with your last statements about understanding student struggles when you’ve “been there done that”. It’s always easier to have empathy when you can feel their pain with them and then encourage them to go forward anyway. Great reading!

    Like

    • That is quite a change of venue! May I ask why you made the change? When I first told my mom I was going to be an English teacher, she didn’t believe me, but then she warmed up to the idea saying that I would probably be a very good English teacher since I had struggled! Hopefully my students would agree! I look forward to hearing more about your experiences as we go!

      Like

      • A couple of reasons. One, I am looking to get out of the instrumental side of music. Two, I like English and I see kids that are struggling with the subject matter in our school and I want to help them. We moms are hard to convince sometimes…;)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading your post! As a recovering perfectionist myself, I could relate to some of your experiences. Why do you think the girl on the basketball team saw you as a future teacher? It sounds like you learned some important lessons through failure. I hate failing but I do realize that my best learning happens when I fail rather than when I have an instant success!

    Like

    • I think she saw the way I helped they underclassmen learn new drills or plays and the way I handled different moments- heated and stressful! I definitely did learn a lot through that experience. It gave me patience and understanding. I can really understand when a student just “doesn’t get it.” I can believe them that they have tried and maybe their brains just don’t understand a certain thing! I just hope I can remember that lesson in times to come!

      Like

  3. I can relate with you so much. Spanish class was the devil to me in high school. For some reason, I just didn’t get it. (Probably didn’t help that I wasn’t interested in learning the language.) I love your last section of this post! It made me laugh because I thought I was the only one that hated English in school but want to become an English teacher! Thank goodness for you! Since you are a teacher currently, how did you discover what grade you wanted to teach? I am in the process of going back and fourth between high school and middle school.

    Like

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one that became what I hated! I actually didn’t choose my grades! I was offered the position and it automatically came with 8th-12th grades! (I couldn’t have made a decision if they had given me one!) If I did have to choose now, I would probably go with high school. They seem more mature (sometimes!) and are usually pay better attention because they realize I’m helping them prepare for college! What have you taught previously?

      Like

Leave a Reply

