Diggin’ the Digital Dos

Something I really struggle with as a teacher is seeing the good in technology and using it in my classroom.  To be honest, I have very rarely used it.  I grew up in a house that thought internet and cell phones were horrible things and I truly see how they can be.  Because of that, I’m having a hard time realizing all of the good that it can also offer.

My assignment today was to research “Digital Literacy.” During my searching, I found an interesting video that went a step further.  This video shows the importance of being a teacher with digital competency to help our students succeed. I love the weaving metaphor Claire uses to explain how teachers need to have {and use!} technological, pedagogical, and content knowledge.  One skill is good, but if we put them all together we are strong and successful! She then goes on to push people like me to use a growth plan to continually push to improve.  I guess I’m not the only one that needs to work on this!

diglit
I found this picture on this website. Notice the other website in the corner.

I find it fascinating that we now have an entire branch of education focused on technology.  Unfortunately, my school has banned cell phones in the classrooms starting this year. {That’s caused by the abuse I’m worried about!} We also don’t have desktops, tablets, or clickers.  All we have are Chromebooks. {I will keep my opinions to myself concerning these…}  Does anyone know of fantastic programs that are available for them?

Another thing I looked up was Digital Fluency.  This goes a step beyond Digital Literacy.  Think of it like learning a language.  When we learned to read in elementary school, we became literate.  We weren’t fluent right away though! That takes much more time and effort to achieve.  This is another good visual that I found.  (Wenmoth, 2015)

knowledge-understanding-wisdom

Since there are several ways students {and adults} abuse digital resources, it is our responsibility to teach them the proper way of using them.  I like that this diagram states “Is my digital behavior respectful of others and do I demonstrate the technical and social skills to enable me to be successful and safe in a digital world?”  These are key words and skills that we need to teach! {Which is great because it also aligns with Nebraska State Standards for Language Arts (10).4!}

Along with the NE Multiple Literacy Standards, the ISTE Standards are standards for the use of technology in teaching and learning {AKA integrating technology}. ISTE.org has a great document for teachers of exactly what to do. Thankfully, there are only 5 areas for us to focus on:

  • 1 Facilitate and inspire student learning and creativity {This ties into yesterday’s learning of not squishing creativity in our students, but helping them flourish!},
  • 2 Design and develop digital age learning experiences and assessments,
  • 3 Model digital age work and learning,
  • 4 Promote and model digital citizenship and responsibility, and
  • 5 Engage in professional growth and leadership.

I find it almost scary that I need to model and promote digital citizenship to my students. I will definitely need to get more comfortable with technology!

There are so many things I have yet to learn and incorporate into my classroom.  Pinterest is my lifeline.  I don’t think I could have made it through my first year of teaching without it! Although digital education is going to be difficult for me to do, it is made easier by pinteresting things.  Here is another visual that I think will be a nice starting spot for me.  Maybe it will be helpful for you, too! digital

Throughout this course I am hoping to learn more positives of technology in the classroom and some exact ways of how I can use it in my high school English room. {If you have any ideas, please let me know!}  As I said, I’m not good at doing anything as of right now, so I’m open to possibilities! I know digital literacy is essential for teachers of the future, so I guess this is a perfect class for me to get with it!

2 thoughts on “Diggin’ the Digital Dos

  1. So much good stuff here! I do understand the impulse behind banning cell phones because they complicate our work as teachers, but think it’s so misguided. I know that I use my phone dozens (hundreds?) of times throughout the day to LEARN: whenever I’m curious about anything, I stop and look it up. I use my phone to connect with other learners–to ask questions, to share resources. If we don’t model and teach how to use our devices for good, how can we possibly expect students to do so?

    Like

    • I wish I had tried to use the cell phones more this past year to see if I could figure out a functional way to implement them. Unfortunately, there were too many other irons in the fire so I didn’t even give them a chance! I am hoping to use other forms of technology more in the future to give them a chance to use their skills and comfort areas for good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

