Digital Storytelling

I had to reach way back in my brain (and course information) to remember what Digital Storytelling was all about! Luckily for me, the information was still posted so I was able to find the teacher’s guide to help me!  I also found this page that helped me figure out the steps to go through to design my own!

Creating my Digital Story was tricky since I am not a technology pro.  I used Keynote to create a slideshow.  I used pictures off of Pixabay to ensure that I used creative commons images.  After I had all the images and wording down, I added animation effects to make it more visually appealing.  After that, I recorded myself narrating the slideshow to add the personal touch that I wanted.

The sound was the hardest part for me.  I found a few sound effects that I wanted to incorporate, but I was unable to time them out correctly for the video.  Instead I found a free background music soundtrack that I thought fit my story well!

Poetry for Everyday Life was an interesting read for me.  One of the standards that I have to teach is about figurative language, which metaphors fall under.  I am surprised by how much we use metaphors in everyday life! That’s one standard that will actually be “useful” in real life for the students!  The article made me realize we use metaphors all the time without even realizing what we are saying!

For my teaching metaphor, I loved the idea of combining an improv theater with coaching.  Teaching is like improv theater because you never know what is going to happen! As I explain in my video, I can plan until I’m blue in the face, but that’s not necessarily how the day will go!  I am a coach literally (one-act and speech), but also metaphorically in the classroom.  I teach and show students how to do things and then I push them to do their best to achieve it for themselves!

I am quite proud of my digital story.  I know it isn’t perfect, but for my first time creating something like it and publishing it I would say it went rather well.  I am now trying to plan some ways to incorporate digital stories into my classes so my kiddos can showcase their skills and creative talents using technology!

 

2 thoughts on “Digital Storytelling

Leave a Reply

