Technology Anonymous

When Hubby and I go out on a date or I am somewhere else in public, I’m amazed by how many people are also out on a date  or with a group of friends.  The difference is they have their noses in their phones instead of enjoying each other’s company.  These people (and often myself) are addicted to technology.  So much so that perhaps we need Technology Anonymous!

Paul Miller’s TED talk was interesting and almost inspirational to watch.  I admire that he was able to cut himself off from all things internet related (although I think video games should have been included in the diet) for a year.  I only have a few technology things that are my “go-tos”: Pinterest and Facebook.  {I feel my online life is quite simplified! Now that I am required to do other things I have Twitter, blogs, email, etc.  Even though I only truly have two apps I use, I am quite mindless when I’m on them.  I’ll get on and scroll. And scroll. And scroll.  This summer has been the first summer I haven’t had a job, so I’ve had quite a bit of free time.  The time that I have when nothing needs doing, I find myself feeding my addictions.

However, not all of my time on these sites is wasted! I use Pinterest for SO MUCH of my classroom prep as well as my ILP.  My siblings are spread out across the country, so we keep tabs on each other on Facebook.  This is where, like Paul said, there is a balance.  Technology is neither good nor bad until we make it that way.

I do know that I need to stop multi-tasking.  I think I am quite good at it, but I realize it isn’t appropriate all the time.  Sometimes Hubby and I are realizing and watching TV together, but we’re both on our phones.  I constantly have 10 pinned tabs on my browser, along with about 8 or so others open.  There are so many different articles I’m reading or ideas I’m searching and researching and so on that I am not completely focused on any one of them.  Because of all of this, I’m not truly present very much.  I really need to do a better job of putting the computer down whenever my mom calls too!

I don’t want to be one of the people that is so attached to their device that they miss out on life! Hubby and I are going on vacation in two weeks and I really want to capture the moments and share them with family and friends.  But I also need to just live in the moment to truly enjoy it.  My goal will be to put the phone down and pick up the real camera whenever I want a picture!

My parents’ house has no internet, no cell reception, and only one (news) channel. {There’s also not much radio reception either!) I actually love going home for these reasons.  We play board games together and actually interact and talk! (For these same reasons, I haven’t been able to visit them all summer long, which I hate.)  I love being able to go there and unplug completely! People know that they shouldn’t expect to hear from me.  (There is a landline phone in case of emergency!) Since I enjoy unplugging, I am saddened by how hard it is for younger people to do the same.  The fact that they reportedly get anxiety and seriously cannot go without devises is scary.  What would happen if all the computer systems failed? How would people do things??

Everything in life needs moderation. Technology is no different!

8 thoughts on “Technology Anonymous

  1. It is very wise to learn to manage life and prioritize people above things. I hope you enjoy your vacation and take lots of fun pictures!

    Like

  2. I tend to multi-task a lot too, and I recently read some interesting research that says there is no such thing as multi-tasking. The brain actually has to shift from task to task and we use up valuable processing time in making those transitions, so even though it feels like we are multi-tasking, we actually aren’t. I’m not totally convinced though!

    Like

  3. Whenever Ben and I have our date nights, I too am amazed at how many people are stuck on their phones (me being guilty as well). When it comes to multi-tasking, I also find myself at night watching TV with Ben but also scrolling through Facebook. I would love to cut down on the amount of time I spend scrolling through social media and am going to try to limit myself to only checking those sites a few times per week,

    Like

  4. I’m a big multitasker, but not by choice! I also think that Paul had it right when he said we need to find balance in our lives on the internet. We need to prioritize what’s important. It can’t take away from our lives outside the internet unless it’s a priority. For example, I’ve had to tell my kids that I can’t play at that exact moment because I have to study or work on an assignment. It breaks my heart, but sometimes that’s the way it is, and I hope they understand why.

    Like

Leave a Reply

