ILP Cookie Disaster

The food in the house has been rather uneventful this week.  Hubby and I have both come down with what is appearing to be a mixture of the summer head cold and a touch of allergies.  Not fun.

Before we went downhill, I made a round steak supper with gravy, potatoes, and green beans.  I loved this meal because it was such a cheat! First of all, I used the crockpot which means hands-off cooking! I was able to start it and then let it go while I did other things.  (Crockpot meals are a farmer’s wife’s best friend during the busy times!) The gravy was the second part where I cheated. I used a can of mushroom soup mixed with a package mix of chicken gravy.  Super easy and super delicious! I seared the meat in a pan with butter and onion.  Then I put it in the crockpot and poured the gravy mixture on top.  When my husband was closer to coming home, I cleaned some potatoes and threw them in on top. It was a win of a meal!

Once we were rolling down the hill, Hubby asked me to make my Creamy Chicken Noodle again! Of course, I didn’t mind since it is one of my absolute favorites of all time!  Side note: When you make homemade noodles, always give them 2-3 hours to dry out before using them.  I didn’t do that this week because of a hunger time crunch and I could tell the difference! (It was still yummy and is now completely gone.)

Before our projects started, I attempted making my father-in-law some Chocolate Crinkles- His favorite cookie.  However, they didn’t turn out like they were supposed to.  They were flat, soft, and chewy instead of puffy and dry. (I like soft and chewy instead of dry, but it bothered me because they hadn’t turned out!) My mother-in-law and I thought it was because my baking powder or soda was old or because I hadn’t let them chill for a full hour before baking them.  I was also irritated because the recipe said it would make 48 cookies and I had about 16, even though I had shaped them exactly as it said to.  I wanted to test this out again so I bought new soda and powder and made sure to chill them for the full hour.  They turned out even worse than before! (Still tasting delicious, but not shaping up correctly!) I got the same 16 instead of 48 as well.  These cookies are going to be my new nemesis.  I will continue to test them and remake them until I can get them right!

What have I learned? 

  1. Being sick in the summer is no fun!
  2. There is a reason for culinary school.
  3. I’m pretty sure some recipes LIE!
  4. Even though I get frustrated, I still really enjoy cooking/baking!
  5. I wish I had a pro I could ask for help from!

 

If you have any ideas or suggestions, please let me know!

2 thoughts on “ILP Cookie Disaster

Leave a Reply

