The New “Activism”

Technology has brought changes to several areas of life.  Dating, gaming, and now being active in different issues all have been transformed with the invention of internet.   Kids now can Tweet, Facebook, Tumblr, and so on to express their thoughts on different social issues.

My initial reaction was something pretty negative, to be honest.  Our ancestors fought for our freedom and did so much. Nowadays, young adults sit on their couches and type on their phones to protest, they don’t even go out for a sit-in!  I still have some of these thoughts, but I am also seeing a bigger picture.  This activism works better than you would think!

My Kids, A Cause, Our Classroom Blog impressed me with being young, using technology, and actually helping people. The fact that they do so much research on sugary foods and document it, sharing it with others is amazing! They aren’t just getting on and ranting or complaining about what they don’t like or think isn’t fair.  They’re actually based on facts and health!

TeenVogue put out an interesting article about girls around the world that use social media in powerful ways.  They are standing up for women and their safety.  This includes the “upskirting” ban and preventing teen pregnancy.  These issues are on the rise and teens are helping combat them by signing online petitions and posting their thoughts.

There is even a Teen Activist Award given to a teen that is changing things with social media.  The nominee I decided to look into is “God Loves You” of “Why to Stay Strong.”  This one caught my interest because I’m a Christian and I’m impressed that a teen would have the courage to stand up for what they believe in to that extent.  I love the Tweet shared on the information page for “Why to Stay Strong” about how to write a suicide note- Start by focusing on the things you love. This and other tweets send out positive, encouraging thoughts.

Technology has 6 functions when it comes to activism: Shaping public opinion, planning an action, protecting activists, calling people to action, digitally taking action, and transferring resources.  This sums it up perfectly! I can see how social media does all of these things for activists.  Feel free to go to the website and read about it in more detail if it interests you!

This module was an informational one for me. I’m still working on accepting the change between then and now on what we consider activism, but I am seeing the positives now more than before.  I’m not a very active person on social media with my opinions and thoughts though (with political or social issues).  I’m wondering if we should be as teachers? I also worry about the technological side of things- Like how you are more willing to say things online than you would in person.  I still don’t think that’s a good way to do things.

9 thoughts on “The New “Activism”

  1. I have to admit that I am a bit of a skeptic as well. I can now see some of the good things about digital activism, however, I have also personally witnessed people who think they are activists take a really disturbing online approach. They are not practicing their digital citizenship very well, live and learn, I guess.:)

    Like

  2. I have to agree with you that I wasn’t a huge fan of the social media way of activism either, but after seeing the impact that the finalists for the Teen Activism Award made, it made me rethink my opinion.

    Like

  3. I was/ am also the “old person” that sees one side of activism as the wimps way out. But, I also am seeing the potential for great things especially in parts of the world where there is actual oppression and in raising awareness.

    Like

  4. There is definitely two different sides when thinking about digital activism. Even as a “young” person, I am not 100% on board. I think physical interaction has more of an impact but online can give you more followers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

