Hacking is Helping

hacker-2371490_640I’ve always thought hacking was a horrible thing that criminals do! Thanks to a TEDx talk and a blog I’ve recently read, I realize that’s not true.  Hacking is actually a good thing that helps improve what is already out there. {Mind blown!}

Logan LaPlante’s talk really opened my mind.  I’m intrigued by this “hackschooling” that he discusses. I wish he would have gone into more details of what it is and how he does it.  I’m scared that several parents would say they are doing it with their children, but then slack off and not actually put in the effort to arrange those special meetings and experiences for their children!

However, I would love to try to implement some of this mindset into my classroom.  I would love for my students to think of creative ways to display or investigate their learning.  But how is this possible? (If you have ideas or information on this topic, please leave a comment for me!)

What I think I love most about Logan’s talk was how he addresses people that ask “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  He simply answers that he wants to be happy.  Wow.  That’s something that we don’t expect when we ask that kind of a question!   But what an impact that answer has.  It really makes you stop and think about that kiddo and the life they must lead to feel the need to wish and dream of being happy.  I wonder what my students would say if I asked them that question.

laughter-449781_640

*Small personal rant*  What would we say to a child if they said they wanted to be a carpenter? Or a plumber? Electrician? Manufacturing assembly line member? Line man, mechanic, or anything else that doesn’t require a fancy 4 year degree? I remember when I was in high school and trying to decide what to do with my life.  I always wanted to be a stay-at-home-mom, but society thought that was ridiculous because it would waste my potential or ruin me for not going to college.  What about all of these other skilled workers that we need?! They are shamed for not wanting to go to college! If these jobs make those people happy, who are we to tell them they can’t or that they have to go to a university?!  (Personal because my parents never went to college and my husband only went to one year before needing to go back and take over the family farm. People often look down on them, which I hate!)  *Rant over*

Bud’s article adds to the video because he is also discussing how hacking is a good thing. (I think I will put out a tweet, asking my students to hack my classroom and help me make it better!) My favorite part of his article is the “Making” section.  I would love to see my students making more things to aid them in their learning! (Once again, if you have ideas, please let me know!)

~All photos are creative commons from pixabay.com!~

4 thoughts on “Hacking is Helping

  1. It pains me to think about the amount of times I have heard an adult crush a childs dream to be something that the adult does not think it worth the time. A child should be able to make that decision for themselves.

    Like

    • They really should. Of course, parents should be help point their children in the right direction (away from drugs and into good jobs), but they and other adults definitely keep in mind that kids have different preferences!

      Like

  2. I have been one of those adults who asks “what do you want to be when you grow up?”, and now I’m going to ask the question differently. I didn’t even know what I wanted to really do with my career until I fell upon my para job at the school. I think kids learn what they want to do through different situations that they have been in their lives, just like me. We are all told we need to go to college, but a lot of times a college degree doesn’t do much for a person anymore- which is so sad!

    Like

    • I agree that we need experiences to show us our life direction to know what we really need to do! If you aren’t exposed to different things, how could you possibly know what you’re interested in?!

      Like

Leave a Reply

